2021 NFL Coaching Carousel

By Chris Malumphy

In addition to the firings of Bill O'Brien by the Houston Texans, Dan Quinn by the Atlanta Falcons and Matt Patricia by the Detroit Lions in midseason, several other head coaches have now been let go. The New York Jets fired Adam Gase after two seasons of 9-23 ball and will now be led by former 49ers defensive coordinator Robert Saleh. The Jacksonville Jaguars will rebuild under Ohio State and Florida legend Urban Meyer after Doug Marrone was fired after going 23-43. The Los Angeles Chargers fired Anthony Lynn who had a winning record overall (33-31), but had disappointing seasons at the end of his tenure and replaced him with Rams defensive coordinator Brandon Staley. The Detroit Lions replaced interim coach Darrell Bevell with Dan Campbell, tight ends coach for the New Orleans Saints and a former interim head coach with the Miami Dolphins. Campbell promises that the Lions will bite the kneecaps of opponents if necessary. Romeo Crennel (Texans) wasn't retained after serving as the interim replacement of Bill O'Brien and has been replaced by Ravens passing game coordinator and assistant head coach David Culley. Falcons interim coach Raheem Morris has been replaced by Titans offensive coordinator Arthur Smith for the Falcons. Add Doug Pederson, who led the Philadelphia Eagles to a Super Bowl victory just three seasons ago, was set adrift and Indianapolis Colts offensive coordinator Nick Sirianni will be charged with figuring out whether the career of Carson Wentz can be resurrected in the City of Brotherly Love.

2021 Coaching Carousel
CoachCareerCurrent Tenure2020
Matt LaFleur26600.8132019Packers26600.81313300.813
Kevin Stefanski11500.6882020Browns11500.68811500.688
Bill Belichick28013600.6732000Patriots2449200.7267900.438
Sean McVay432100.6722017Rams432100.67210600.625
Mike Tomlin1457810.6502007Steelers1457810.65012400.750
Sean Payton1438100.6382006Saints1438100.63812400.750
Andy Reid22113010.6292013Chiefs913700.71114200.875
John Harbaugh1297900.6202008Ravens1297900.62011500.688
Pete Carroll1459410.6062010Seahawks1126310.63912400.750
Mike Vrabel291900.6042018Titans291900.60411500.688
Bruce Arians674410.6032019Buccaneers181400.56311500.688
Mike McCarthy1318720.6002020Cowboys61000.37561000.375
Sean McDermott382600.5942017Bills382600.59413300.813
Frank Reich282000.5832018Colts282000.58311500.688
Matt Nagy282000.5832018Bears282000.5838800.500
Mike Zimmer644710.5762014Vikings644710.5767900.438
Ron Rivera837210.5352020Team7900.4387900.438
Doug Pederson423710.5312016Eagles423710.53141110.281
Bill O'Brien524800.5202014Texans524800.5200400.000
Jon Gruden11411000.5092018Raiders192900.3968800.500
Anthony Lynn333200.5082017Chargers333100.5167900.438
Dan Quinn434200.5062015Falcons434200.5060500.000
Brian Flores151700.4692019Dolphins151700.46910600.625
Kyle Shanahan293500.453201749ers293500.45361000.375
Kliff Kingsbury131810.4222019Cardinals131810.4228800.500
Dan Campbell5700.4172021Lions        
Adam Gase324800.4002019Jets92300.28121400.125
Doug Marrone386000.3882016Jaguars234300.34811500.063
Joe Judge61000.3752020Giants61000.37561000.375
Vic Fangio122000.3752019Broncos122000.37551100.313
Raheem Morris213800.3562020Falcons4700.3644700.364
Romeo Crennel326300.3372020Texans4800.3334800.333
Matt Patricia132910.3142018Lions132910.3144700.364
Matt Rhule51100.3132020Panthers51100.31351100.313
Zac Taylor62510.2032019Bengals62510.20341110.281
Darrell Bevell1400.2002020Lions1400.2001400.200
Urban Meyer    2021Jaguars        
Robert Saleh    2021Jets        
Arthur Smith    2021Falcons        
Brandon Staley    2021Chargers        
Nick Sirianni    2021Eagles        
David Culley    2021Texans        
Note: Includes Bruce Arians' 9-3 record with the Indianapolis Colts in 2012 while filling in for Coach Chuck Pagano who was battling cancer. The NFL has attributed that record to Pagano even though he was not on the sidelines for those games.